Bread and Butter Pudding with a Sweet Twist

Eeekk, I have been awful and not posted in a while! Sorry, I was ill for a while and then got carried away with Christmas decorations for my stall and Etsy shop, which I am still designing and creating but I have taken the night off for networking and blogging. 

Well the weather has turned and I have to say I love it. I know I’m in the minority here but Autumn is my favorite time of the year closely followed by Winter. I absolutely love warm jumpers, slippers, hot drinks, stews, leaves falling, the cold nip in the air in the morning. I have loved walking down to the market in the mornings as its so fresh and really wakes me up. I had a lovely day out shopping with Tiggy this week it was a long and wet day and when we got back I promised him hot chocolate with marshmallows, I have never seen him run so fast to the door.

I debated over what to post today as I have done lots in the past few weeks but thought that my bread and butter pudding would be a good one. I don’t make the traditional bread and butter pudding and you must have a sweet tooth for this, to be honest I could only handle a little bit of this at a time. Here are the ingredients you will need:

Ingredients

  • 25g/1oz butter plus extra for greasing

  • 10 small chocolate briohce rolls

  • Dark chocolate 

  • 350ml/12fl oz whole milk

  • 50ml/2fl oz double cream

  • 2 eggs

  • 25g/1oz granulated sugar

Lightly grease your baking dish with butter. Slice your Brioche rolls in half and spread your butter one side. Layer your bread with chunks of chocolate inbetween each layer. Gently warm the milk and cream in a pan over a low heat to scalding point, don’t let it boil. Crack the eggs into a bowl, add three quarters of the sugar and lightly whisk until pale then add the milk and cream and stir. Pour the custard over the layered bread and sprinkle the remaining sugar and leave to stand for 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 180C/355F/Gas 4. Place the dish into the oven and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until the custard has set and the top is golden-brown.

Here’s a picture of my latest one

Image

 

It is delicious but as I said super sweet. I just cover the remainder and put it in the fridge and heat up in the microwave as and when needed. I hope you like it!

 Well I really should be going I want to try and make myself a nappy and wet wipe holder for my bag (although this will soon be just a wet wipe holder fingers crossed).

I will try and post soon, perhaps some Halloween crafts are in order…

One thought on “Bread and Butter Pudding with a Sweet Twist

  1. Pingback: Cream the boss at work, because I drink milk cream made from small vessels. | lovingbutter

Leave a Reply

